Skip to content

National Association of Diocesan Advisers in Women’s Ministry

Participating Observers in the House of Bishops

In December 2013, the House of Bishops of the Church of England welcomed eight women as Participating Observers, following their election from regions across the country. Two of these women, Jane Tillier (Lichfield) and Libby Lane (Chester), are serving Deans of Women in Ministry.


These roles arose when in February 2013 the House decided that until such time as there are six female members of the House (as Diocesan Bishops) a number of senior women clergy should be given the right to attend and speak at meetings of the House as Participant Observers. Elections for Participant Observers by senior women clergy nominated from each Diocese by their Bishops, were held in autumn of 2013, and those elected were:

Participant Observers

Top row – left-right:

The Ven Rachel Treweek, Archdeacon of Hackney (South East)

The Ven Nicola Sullivan, Archdeacon of Wells (South West)

The Ven Annette Cooper, Archdeacon of Colchester (East Anglia)

The Ven Joanne Grenfell, Archdeacon of Portsdown (South and Central)

Bottom row-left-right:

The Revd Libby Lane, Dean of Women in Ministry, Chester Diocese (North West)

The Revd Jane Tillier, Dean of Women in Ministry Lichfield Diocese (West Midlands)

The Very Revd Vivienne Faull, Dean of York (North East)

The Ven Christine Wilson, Archdeacon of Chesterfield (East Midlands)


The House of Bishops (Diocesan Bishops) meets residentially twice a year, and occasionally in addition during General Synod. The Participant Observers also attend College of Bishop (all Bishops) Meetings and regional Bishops meetings.